Critically acclaimed mezzo-soprano Michèle Losier distinguishes herself on international opera stages with her rich voice, masterful musicality and stupendous stage presence. Celebrated as a "vocal treasure", and for her "luminous" and "deeply moving" singing, she appears in the world's greatest opera houses.

Portrait de Michèle Losier, ©Domino Postiglione.
©Domino Postiglione

Discover the recordings

During the 2020-2021 season, Michèle will sing Carmen and les Contes d'Hoffmann in Vienna. She will give concert performances of Das Lied von der Erde with Yannick Nézet-Séguin in Montreal, and of Les nuits d'été with Sir Andrew Davis in Lyon, where she will also perform in Béatrice et Bénédict. In October, she will give a recital in Montreal at the Bourgie Hall.

Recent successes include Octavian in Der Rosenkavalier in Berlin, Carmen at the Royal Danish Theatre, and Nicklausse in Les Contes d'Hoffmann at the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich and at the Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels. She sang Ascagne in the Dmitri Tcherniakov production of Les Troyens with Philippe Jordan at Bastille, Judith in Bluebeard's Castle with Yannick Nézet-Séguin in Montreal, Jane Seymour in Anna Bolena in Bordeaux, and Idamante in Mozart's Idomeneo at Teatro alla Scalla. She was also acclaimed at Bastille in the Terry Gilliam's production of Benvenuto Cellini conducted by Philippe Jordan, and in the Così fan tutte staged by choreographer Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker at Palais Garnier.

Michèle also sang the first roles in Cenerentola at Opéra de Lyon and in Ravel's l'Heure espagnole at Opéra Bastille. She took part in the Edinburgh International Festival, and gave numerous concerts in Toledo, Philadelphia and her native Canada, including performances at the Festival International de Lanaudière with Orchestre symphonique de Montréal and Orchestre Métropolitain.

Michèle sang in Melbourne Beethoven's Missa solemnis, Berlioz's Béatrice et Bénédict at Théâtre royal de la Monnaie in Brussels, Berlioz's Roméo et Juliette in London with the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Sir Andrew Davis, and the role of Mercedes in Carmen at the Royal Opera House. In summer 2015, she took part in the OSM Classical Spree Festival where she sang the title role in Carmen under the baton of Kent Nagano.

Noteworthy appearances also include Ascanio (Benvenuto Cellini) at the Dutch National Opera, Medea (Charpentier) at Théâtre des Champs-Élysées and Lille Opera, Prince Charmant (Cendrillon) at Opéra-Comique, Nicklausse and the Muse (Les Contes d'Hoffmann) in concert at Salle Pleyel in Paris, at Teatre del Liceu and in Tokyo, Phoebe (Castor et Pollux) at Opéra-Comique, Théâtre des Champs-Élysées and in tour with the Pygmalion Ensemble, Sesto (La Clemenza di Tito) at Wiener Staatsoper and Théâtre royal de la Monnaie, Dorabella (Cosi fan tutte) at Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, at the Royal Opera House and at the Salzburg Festival, and Siebel (Faust) at the Royal Opera House and at the Metropolitan Opera.

Michèle also sang Berlioz's Nuits d'été in tour with Emmanuel Krivine and the Chambre Philharmonique, Charlotte (Werther) at Sydney Opera and Opéra de Montréal, Cherubino (Le Nozze di Figaro) at San Francisco Opera and at Washington National Opera, and as Ruggiero (Handel's Alcina) in concert with Marc Minkowski and Les Musiciens du Louvre.

The artist’s achievement at the Metropolitan Opera Auditions in 2005 led to her house debut in 2007 as Diane (Iphigénie en Tauride), under the baton of Louis Langrée, alongside Susan Graham and Placido Domingo. Her success at the Queen Elisabeth of Belgium International Competition in 2008 won her a recital tour of Europe and a recording of the Chansons of Henri Duparc with pianist Daniel Blumenthal, released in April 2009 on the Fuga Libera label.

Read the reviews


Follow Michèle on Twitter

Noteworthy appearances also include Ascanio (Benvenuto Cellini) at the Dutch National Opera, Medea (Charpentier) at Théâtre des Champs-Élysées and Lille Opera, Prince Charmant (Cendrillon) at Opéra-Comique, Nicklausse and the Muse (Les Contes d'Hoffmann) in concert at Salle Pleyel in Paris, at Teatre del Liceu and in Tokyo, Phoebe (Castor et Pollux) at Opéra-Comique, Théâtre des Champs-Élysées and in tour with the Pygmalion Ensemble, Sesto (La Clemenza di Tito) at Wiener Staatsoper and Théâtre royal de la Monnaie, Dorabella (Cosi fan tutte) at Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, at the Royal Opera House and at the Salzburg Festival, and Siebel (Faust) at the Royal Opera House and at the Metropolitan Opera.

Michèle also sang Berlioz's Nuits d'été in tour with Emmanuel Krivine and the Chambre Philharmonique, Charlotte (Werther) at Sydney Opera and Opéra de Montréal, Cherubino (Le Nozze di Figaro) at San Francisco Opera and at Washington National Opera, and as Ruggiero (Handel's Alcina) in concert with Marc Minkowski and Les Musiciens du Louvre.

The artist’s achievement at the Metropolitan Opera Auditions in 2005 led to her house debut in 2007 as Diane (Iphigénie en Tauride), under the baton of Louis Langrée, alongside Susan Graham and Placido Domingo. Her success at the Queen Elisabeth of Belgium International Competition in 2008 won her a recital tour of Europe and a recording of the Chansons of Henri Duparc with pianist Daniel Blumenthal, released in April 2009 on the Fuga Libera label.

Discover the 2019-2020 Season


Follow Michèle on Facebook

In concert, her projects have included Berlioz's l'Enfance du Christ and a creation from Gilles Tremblay with Montreal Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Kent Nagano, Beethoven's 9th Symphony with the Montreal Metropolitan Orchestra, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Ravel's Shéhérazade in Doha with the Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra, Berlioz's Nuits d'Été in Ohio with the Colombus Symphony Orchestra, Mahler’s Kindertotenlieder in Belgium, Rossini’s Petite Messe Solennelle in Montreal, Mozart's Requiem with Les Violons du Roy on their U.S. tour, and has given performances at the May Festival in Cincinnati with James Conlon. She also gave a recital during the Festival of Lanaudière in July 2008.

Other appearances include Nicklausse at Boston Lyric Opera, Wellgunde (Das Rheingold, Götterdämmerung), Grimgerde (Die Walküre) and Diane (Iphigénie en Tauride) at Seattle Opera, Dorabella at Arizona Opera, Donna Elvira (Don Giovanni) at Palm Beach Opera, Suzuki (Madama Butterfly) at Pacific Opera, as well as Mrs Grose (The Turn of the Screw), Lazuli (L'Étoile) and Mercedes (Carmen) at Opéra de Montréal, a role in which she also made her debut at Teatro alla Scala under the baton of Daniel Barenboim. She distinguishes herself in the sacred works of Rossini, Vivaldi, Handel, Dvorák and Bach, and in recitals in the masterpieces from the lied and song repertoire, from early music to contemporary works.

Michèle Losier dans le rôle de Carmen de Bizet.
Carmen, OSM Classical Spree Festival ©J-F Hamelin

Watch videos

Michèle Losier's portrait - ©Edwin Tse
Photo credits: Edwin Tse

Since her debut in 2002 at Opéra d'Avignon as Dorabella, Michèle has sung with prestigious conductors such as Louis Langrée, Patrick Fourmilier, Emmanuel Plasson, Marc Minkowski, Jérémie Rhorer, Stephane Denève, Emmanuelle Haïm, François-Xavier Bilger, Sebastian Lang-Lessing, Nicola Luisetti, Daniel Barenboim, Sir Colin Davis, Evelino Pido, Placido Domingo, James Conlon and Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

An alumnus of McGill University, Michèle Losier was also a member of the San Francisco Opera's Merola Program, the Opéra de Montréal's Atelier Lyrique and the Juilliard Opera Center in New York. She has been the recipient of a number of grants and scholarships, including those from the Jacqueline Desmarais Foundation, the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts and the Sylva-Gelber Foundation. She is a First Prize winner at the Journées de la Musique Française in 2000, the Vocal Division of the Canadian Music Competition in 2001, and of the Mélodie Française category of the Chant de Marmande International Competition in France.

More photos

Acclamée autant pour la richesse de sa voix que pour sa vibrante présence scénique, la mezzo-soprano canadienne Michèle Losier cumule les succès sur les plus grandes scènes d'opéra. Décrite par la critique comme un « trésor vocal », « lumineuse » et « bouleversante », elle mène une brillante carrière des deux côtés de l'Atlantique.

Portrait de Michèle Losier, ©Domino Postiglione.
©Domino Postiglione

Découvrir les enregistrements

La saison 2020-2021 verra Michèle se produire à Vienne dans Carmen et les Contes d'Hoffmann. Elle chantera également en concert Das Lied von der Erde sous la baguette de Yannick Nézet-Séguin à Montréal, et Les nuits d'été avec Sir Andrew Davis à Lyon, où on pourra aussi l'entendre dans Béatrice et Bénédict. Elle se produira également en récital à Montréal à la salle Bourgie.

Récemment, Michèle a incarné son premier Octavian dans Der Rosenkavalier à Berlin, sous la baguette de Zubin Mehta. Elle a également chanté Carmen au Théâtre royal danois, et retrouvé le rôle Nicklausse dans les Contes d'Hoffmann au Bayerische Staatsoper à Munich et au Théâtre de la Monnaie à Bruxelles. Elle a chanté Ascagne dans la production de Dmitri Tcherniakov des Troyens dirigée par Philippe Jordan à l'Opéra Bastille, Judith dans le Château de Barbe-Bleue avec Yannick Nézet-Séguin à Montréal, Jeanne Seymour dans Anna Bolena à Bordeaux, et Idamante dans l'Idomeneo de Mozart à la Scala de Milan. Elle a remporté les éloges à l'Opéra Bastille dans la production de Terry Gilliam de Benvenuto Cellini dirigée par Philippe Jordan, et dans le Così fan tutte mis en scène par Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker au Palais Garnier.

Michèle a tenu les premiers rôles dans Cenerentola à l'Opéra de Lyon et dans l'Heure espagnole à l'Opéra Bastille. Elle s'est également produite en concert en Écosse, à Toledo et à Philadelphie, et en récital au Théâtre de la Monnaie à Bruxelles, et a donné de nombreux concerts dans son Canada natal, notamment dans le cadre du Festival International de Lanaudière, avec entre autres l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal et l'Orchestre Métropolitain.

On a pu l'entendre à Melbourne dans la Missa solemnis de Beethoven, au Théâtre royal de la Monnaie dans Béatrice et Bénédict de Berlioz, à Londres avec l'Orchestre symphonique de la BBC et Sir Andrew Davis dans Roméo et Juliette de Berlioz, et dans le rôle de Mercedes dans Carmen au Royal Opera House. Au cours de l'été 2015, Michèle a chanté le rôle-titre dans Carmen dans le cadre de la Virée classique avec Kent Nagano et l'Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal.

Ces dernières saisons, on a pu l'entendre dans les rôles d'Ascanio (Benvenuto Cellini) à l'Opéra National des Pays-Bas, de Médée (Charpentier) au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées et à l'Opéra de Lille, du Prince Charmant (Cendrillon) à l'Opéra-Comique, de Nicklausse et de la Muse (Les Contes d'Hoffmann) en concert à la Salle Pleyel à Paris, au Teatre del Liceu et à Tokyo, de Phébé (Castor et Pollux) à l'Opéra-Comique, au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées et en tournée avec l'ensemble Pygmalion, de Sesto (La Clemenza di Tito) au Staatsoper de Vienne et au Théâtre royal de la Monnaie, de Dorabella (Cosi fan tutte) au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, au Royal Opera House et au Festival de Salzbourg, et de Siebel (Faust) au Royal Opera House et au Metropolitan Opera.

Elle a également interprété les Nuits d'été de Berlioz en tournée européenne avec Emmanuel Krivine et la Chambre Philharmonique, et s'est produite à l'Opéra de Sydney et à l'Opéra de Montréal dans le rôle de Charlotte (Werther), au San Francisco Opera et au Washington National Opera dans le rôle de Cherubino (Le Nozze di Figaro) et sur différentes scènes d'Europe avec Marc Minkowski et les Musiciens du Louvre dans le rôle de Ruggiero dans Alcina (Handel).

Lauréate aux Auditions du Metropolitan Opera en 2005, Michèle a fait ses débuts dans la prestigieuse maison d’opéra new-yorkaise en 2007 dans Iphigénie en Tauride, où elle a chanté Diane sous la direction de Louis Langrée. À la suite de son succès au concours musical international Reine-Élisabeth-de-Belgique où elle a été lauréate en 2008, elle s'est produite dans une tournée de récitals à travers l'Europe et a enregistré les mélodies de Duparc avec le pianiste Daniel Blumenthal. Le disque a paru en 2009 sous étiquette Fuga Libera.

Lire les critiques


Suivre Michèle sur Twitter

Ces dernières saisons, on a pu l'entendre dans les rôles d'Ascanio (Benvenuto Cellini) à l'Opéra National des Pays-Bas, de Médée (Charpentier) au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées et à l'Opéra de Lille, du Prince Charmant (Cendrillon) à l'Opéra-Comique, de Nicklausse et de la Muse (Les Contes d'Hoffmann) en concert à la Salle Pleyel à Paris, au Teatre del Liceu et à Tokyo, de Phébé (Castor et Pollux) à l'Opéra-Comique, au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées et en tournée avec l'ensemble Pygmalion, de Sesto (La Clemenza di Tito) au Staatsoper de Vienne et au Théâtre royal de la Monnaie, de Dorabella (Cosi fan tutte) au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, au Royal Opera House et au Festival de Salzbourg, et de Siebel (Faust) au Royal Opera House et au Metropolitan Opera.

Elle a également interprété les Nuits d'été de Berlioz en tournée européenne avec Emmanuel Krivine et la Chambre Philharmonique, et s'est produite à l'Opéra de Sydney et à l'Opéra de Montréal dans le rôle de Charlotte (Werther), au San Francisco Opera et au Washington National Opera dans le rôle de Cherubino (Le Nozze di Figaro) et sur différentes scènes d'Europe avec Marc Minkowski et les Musiciens du Louvre dans le rôle de Ruggiero dans Alcina (Handel).

Lauréate aux Auditions du Metropolitan Opera en 2005, Michèle a fait ses débuts dans la prestigieuse maison d’opéra new-yorkaise en 2007 dans Iphigénie en Tauride, où elle a chanté Diane sous la direction de Louis Langrée. À la suite de son succès au concours musical international Reine-Élisabeth-de-Belgique où elle a été lauréate en 2008, elle s'est produite dans une tournée de récitals à travers l'Europe et a enregistré les mélodies de Duparc avec le pianiste Daniel Blumenthal. Le disque a paru en 2009 sous étiquette Fuga Libera.

Découvrir la saison 2019-2020

En concert, ses projets ont inclus l'Enfance du Christ de Berlioz et la création d'une oeuvre de Gilles Tremblay avec Kent Nagano et l'Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, la 9e Symphonie de Beethoven avec l’Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal, le Toronto Symphony Orchestra, et le Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Shéhérazade de Ravel à Doha avec le Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra, Les nuits d'été de Berlioz en Ohio avec le Colombus Symphony Orchestra, les Kindertotenlieder de Mahler en Belgique, la Petite Messe Solennelle de Rossini à Montréal pour la Société André-Turp avec l’ensemble Viva Voce, le Requiem de Mozart en tournée américaine avec les Violons du Roy et une participation au May Festival de Cincinnati. Elle a aussi donné un récital consacré à Berlioz, Hahn, Obradors et Grieg dans le cadre du Festival de Lanaudière en juillet 2008.

Michèle s'est également produite dans les rôles de Nicklausse au Boston Lyric Opera, Wellgunde (Das Rheingold, Götterdämmerung), Grimgerde (Die Walküre) et Diane (Iphigénie en Tauride) au Seattle Opera, Dorabella au Arizona Opera, Donna Elvira (Don Giovanni) au Palm Beach Opera, Suzuki (Madama Butterfly) au Pacific Opera, ainsi que Mrs Grose (The Turn of the Screw), Lazuli (L'Étoile) et Mercedes (Carmen) à l'Opéra de Montréal, rôle dans lequel elle a également fait ses débuts à la Scala de Milan sous la direction de Daniel Barenboim. Elle se distingue en concert dans les oeuvres sacrées de Rossini, Vivaldi, Handel, Dvorák et Bach et en récital dans les oeuvres marquantes du répertoire de la mélodie et du lied, de la musique ancienne aux créations contemporaines.

Michèle Losier dans le rôle de Carmen de Bizet.
Carmen, Virée classique OSM ©J-F Hamelin

Voir les vidéos

Portrait de Michèle Losier - ©Edwin Tse.
©Edwin Tse

Voir les photos

Depuis ses débuts en 2002 à l'Opéra d'Avignon dans le rôle de Dorabella, elle a travaillé avec de nombreux chefs prestigieux tels que Louis Langrée, Patrick Fourmilier, Emmanuel Plasson, Marc Minkowski, Jérémie Rhorer, Stephane Denève, Emmanuelle Haïm, François-Xavier Bilger, Sebastian Lang-Lessing, Nicola Luisetti, Daniel Barenboim, Sir Colin Davis, Evelino Pido, Placido Domingo, James Conlon et Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Diplômée de l’Université McGill, Michèle Losier a été membre du Merola Opera Program à San Francisco, de l’Atelier Lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal et du Studio d’Opéra de la Juilliard School à New York. Elle a reçu de nombreuses bourses et subventions, notamment de la Fondation Jacqueline Desmarais, du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, du Conseil des Arts du Canada et du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, de la Guilde des musiciens de Montréal ainsi que de la Fondation Sylva-Gelber. Elle a remporté le premier prix au concours des Journées de la Musique française en 2000, le premier prix en chant au Concours de musique du Canada en 2001 et a été finaliste au Concours des Jeunes Ambassadeurs Lyriques du Canada pendant plusieurs années. En 2004, on lui a décerné le premier prix en mélodie française et le troisième prix en opéra au Concours International de Chant de Marmande en France et le deuxième prix au concours de l’OSM Standard Life au Canada.

Suivre Michèle sur Facebook